The Council meeting was drama free. But I have a question and I think I may have already answered it for myself. What exactly would this “Louisiana Legislative Caucus” be? Would this be the Louisiana Legislative Black Caucus ? After searching google here I cannot find a Louisiana Legislative Caucus anywhere. Did they just omit the word black or does it go by Louisiana Legislative Caucus? Without even watching the “episode” I made a post before this one and I just knew somewhere in there, that I would find a biased donation of some sort. GAEDA has become infamous for these types of things. If I started a White caucus, would I be able to have money allocated from hotel/motel tax in order to put on an event? I don’t mind them donating to them at all and more power the members of that organization. Are any of the City Council members involved in this”‘Louisiana Legislative Caucus”?

 

 

 

 

 

From the City Council Agenda

 

25) To consider final adoption of an ordinance authorizing the City to co-sponsor along with GAEDA Board and the England Authority the 30th anniversary celebration of the Louisiana Legislative Caucus and local delegates.

After researching a bit I still have not found a Louisiana Legislative Caucus but only the Louisiana Legislative Black Caucus. Funny because it is the 30th anniversary for the Louisiana Legislative Black Caucus. One would have to assume  they are trying to sponsor this event. But why did they not just call it by it’s correct name and not omit the word by which would make it the correct organization that they are wanting to sponsor? From their website I found their “goals”…

 

Our Goals
Enacting legislation that positively impacts and repealing legislation that negatively impacts the Black Caucus’ constituencies.

 

Implementing and promoting policies which allow all citizens fair and open access to educational and economical advancement opportunities.

 

Providing leadership in challenging policies which hinder the progress of African Americans.

 

Organizing and maintaining a networking system in Louisiana that links together elected officials, faith-based and civic organizations, businesses and colleges and universities for identifying cutting-edge issues that affect Louisiana’s African American citizenry.

 

Developing and implementing community-based programs, meetings and forums for the distribution of information.

 

Serving as a united public voice for the African American population in Louisiana.

On another note, it appears as though white people cannot join see this link. Go figure. I think as a society we have things totally backwards. We want progression towards racial equality yet we still separate from each other as a race. There are many organizations that include only black members and are directed to a certain race. I understand that many of their relatives in the past suffered through many horrible things and if I could have stopped it I would have. However, I have never owned any slaves and I don’t know anyone that has. Could you imagine the outcry if someone started a white caucus? I am in no way a racist but I am a realist. We as a society need to build a bridge and just get over the whole thing. If we keep thinking up a new organization every day that cater directly and only to a certain race we as a society will never progress to our (hopefully, but my) ultimate goal and see each other as a human instead of a black/white/spanish/purple/pin striped. I wonder what these Black Caucus meetings discuss.

Another article with a each member of the ‘opposite’ race trying to join the other caucus. It does appear that there is a Tennessee White Caucus. It cites it in the article here but I cannot seem to find any info on the organization on the internet. Any information that you have on this would be appreciated.

