So I received a piece of “literature” in the mail today. To my disgust it was not a golf catalog, coupon for Domino’s Pizza or sadly even a bill. Yet it was a warning that a sexual predator had moved into the neighborhood. The warning was complete with a mugshot of the offender and a brief description of the offenses in which he/she was convicted. Now I do not have kids and I do not plan on raising kids here in the first place. But if I did, I think I would be even more alarmed. You see after searching google to find out exactly how far away he lived it is two streets away and a quick drive past the location and I estimate that he lives probably about three football fields away from my house. I know that some offenders may have different circumstances than others such as a 18 year old dating a 16 year old which is common in high school. But here I am looking at this warning and this is a 46 year old man who has done some pretty awful things. With someone like this living in such close proximity to my house if I were to have kids I would be afraid to let them step out of the house because the State of Louisiana finds him to be “reformed”. I was also amazed at the sickness when watching a recent documentary style show on Dateline (NBC), the show was titled “To Catch a Predator” and I have seen some of the most disturbing individuals in my entire life on this show. It is hard to imagine that we have people as sick as this in our society. When I go to websites like this it makes me sick. See link below…

Rapides Parish Sex Offenders Link
There is also a feature where you can sign up for alerts when one of these offenders moves into your area.

With my best attempt at counting I was able to tally up 211 sexual offenders in Rapides Parish, that is a pretty large number. Just look around the link I provided and look at some of these people. I would suggest that you also take not as to where they are located and keep up with this frequently to be aware of your surroundings. I know that they send out these little “warnings” but in the case that you never receive one there are other ways to research this.

